One of my favourite things.

cadbury mug
Having looked back over my last few blog posts I seem to have taken on a serious tone and I have completely gone away from my blogs title, The Tales of a Slightly Stressed Mother. Although this is probably inevitable given such a narrow sounding title, for those of you who would like some light relief instead of a preaching at, today I would like to offer something different.

I am still a mother and still slightly stressed but it wouldn’t be real life if I suggested my life was always like that. Having committed to NaBloPoMo for the month of November invariably I will struggle to wonder what to post sometimes. This idea has been borne out of that. I apologise, I seem to be very slow getting to my point!

Today I want to show you one of my favourite things. This mug in the image above. Keats in his well-known poem told us “A thing of beauty is a joy forever”. In my opinion the above cup, mug, call it what you will is beautiful. I love to look at it and to put it to use. I won’t go so far as to say it makes my coffee taste better but it does give me a feeling of satisfaction.

William Morris said “Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful”. I feel that this object is both beautiful and useful, a double whammy.

I haven’t had it long. It was bought second-hand for a ridiculously  small amount of money. One of those times I saw something and had to have it and fortunately could afford it. Please don’t be snobbish about owning secondhand or visiting charity shops. If you have a good eye you can pick up some real bargains.

This is a Cadbury’s mug. I don’t really know anything about its history or how old it is. I would say its design is art deco possibly and it is kiln craft tableware made in Staffordshire potteries. Probably mass-produced but I don’t mind. It would not be going too far to say that I love everything about it. The dramatic deep red colour, almost maroon, the stylised design, the shape of it. It holds a perfect amount of coffee, not so much that you’re overwhelmed and not so little that you’re disappointed. It even fits wonderfully in my hand.

Well, so that’s one of my favourite objects. I know it’s just a thing. It’s not life changing. Perhaps you think I’m a little mad. All I know is in a landscape of my life that is constantly changing, it is a reassurance. I am not one of those people who have a cabinet of precious things. I can’t understand owning things if you never use them or just hide them away behind glass.

It gives me pleasure to use beautiful things. Needless  to say though with 4 children in the house I am careful with where I place it when not in use. It wouldn’t be an absolute disaster if it broke but I would be a tad disappointed.

So what do you guys think? Do you have any favourite objects you consider beautiful or do you consider such things a sheer indulgence or waste of time?

Leave a Reply

