You know that some people eat to live and others live to eat? Unfortunately I am one of the latter category. When people remark that they can’t remember whether they’ve eaten that day or not I look at them aghast. While some view food as simply fuel for their bodies I view food as one of my great loves. It would probably not be inaccurate to say that from the time I awake I am thinking what I’m going to have for my next meal!

You will probably be thinking from reading this that having said the above I must have a weight problem to be so in love with food. You would be right. I have been a yoyo dieter for many years, losing and putting on the same weight several times. That is something I’m not proud of and I am trying to be more disciplined in all areas of my life.

So this daily prompt of simply irresistible leaves me in a quandary. My favourite food is dictated by a wide number of things including the price of food, what time of year it is and whether I am dieting or not. I love chocolate and sweets and cakes and all the things that are bad for me unfortunately. I’m not a chocolate snob. I don’t like dark concentrated chocolate even though its supposed to be better for you. It tastes too bitter to my palate, maybe it is not discerning enough.

Desserts are also a favourite particularly the old school type ones like crumbles and sponge puddings.

When I am on a diet and in a motivated  frame of mind then I love sitting down with a plate of salad but it always has to include some type of meat. I could never be a vegetarian. I love meat too much. So it won’t come as any surprise that I am a fan of steak with peppered sauce. The steak has to be well done though, no pink showing or any suggestion it’s about to leap off the plate! I have been known to send steak back to the restaurant kitchen and ask  them to cook it further. Not quite cremated .

I admire the look of nouveau cuisine . Its beautiful but not enough on the plate to please me. When I am not dieting I am drawn to chips . There is a chip shop local to us that makes gorgeous chips.  Where we live chips and gravy are a common favourite. I never had this in London but it’s actually quite nice

Now that I’ve been thinking about food and my mouth is watering it brings to mind my liking for Indian food. I favour hotter than a Korma but not as hot as Vindaloo or Phal. I would like to eat the food and enjoy it not be having to gulp down numerous glasses of water to be able to cope.

I really don’t think I have one favourite food that I cannot say no to and simply have to have I’m probably not discerning enough although it does mean I am an easy dinner guest. I once made the awful mistake in France of ordering a plate of sea food which came complete with huge snails. I can cope with the smaller ones in garlic that you can chew quickly but not those ones!

Now if I had to list my favourite drink I’d get on a  lot better! Coffee, by the way!

Till next time.

NaBloPoMo.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/26/daily-prompt-irresistible/

10 thoughts on “A veritable smorgasbord.

  1. food is more than fuel, i agree with you. it can be my stress buster sometimes. the taste and aroma relaxes me and puts me at ease

Leave a Reply

