Do you ever experience those moments when things are perfectly fine in your world and yet a wave of sadness sweeps over you?

I do. Not frequently, but I do. These moments give me pause and cause me to examine my heart and feelings.

This sadness feels less like the anti climax of the end of a period of festivity, less the  comedown from a bout of eating junk food, less cyclical in nature.

It just is. It usually comes from nowhere and takes me unawares. You might wonder why I’m discussing this today but why not?
Isn’t it right that occasionally the mask should slip and people be able to see the person within?

If I were to psycho analyse myself I would say that I tend to melancholy anyway. I suppose I am the glass half full person, the worrier, the pessimist .

But knowing that about myself and also believing that my life and times are in the hands of God I try not to give in to those misgivings, to not let them have dominion over me.

Sadness is an emotion we are all prone too and obviously there are different types and different triggers for it.

As I said I’m not speaking of that gut wrenching grief inducing sadness brought on by a major tragedy or a family catastrophe.
I’m also not speaking of the compassionate sadness that draws tears from our eyes over another’s suffering.

I’m talking of that sadness that springs on you at incongruous times, seemingly at odds with your current circumstances.

Another self analysed thought is I’ve lived many years on a fairly neutral plain, not feeling much at all, other than numbness. Now that I am “better” it’s perhaps no wonder that random emotions and feelings pop up from time to time. I think this is also why I flounder when asked how I am, because I don’t always know!

When I feel sad I usually initially think “hmmm, where is that coming from? “. Then I wait to see if the feeling subsides . I try not to speak about it in front of the children because my eldest especially fears my descent into depression again.

I pray about it and tell God how I’m feeling. He made me so He knows me anyway and how I’m feeling but I find it makes me feel better to talk to Him about it.

I take the approach of being careful what I’m reading and listening to and watching in the media etc because that can compound it.

I tell my husband about it if it feels it’s becoming unmanageable and more depression like in nature. Thankfully these moments are infrequent these days.

Lastly, I acknowledge it and give myself permission to feel it. Not as an indulgence more an honesty to myself. I don’t always have to be upbeat, I don’t have to know all the answers, I don’t have to continually wear a mask and neither do you.

It’s OK to be sad sometimes, you don’t have to have it all together . You are not alone.

I believe that our sadness and emptiness can stem from our spiritual vacuum and the fact that we were created to have communion with God, as Adam and Eve walked in the garden of Eden with Him. So it follows that if we try to fill that space with other things we will feel incomplete.

Hey, it’s my blog, so that’s my opinion :-).

Till next time.

PS. Ongoing sadness is different entirely and needs to be checked out.

7 thoughts on “It’s OK to be sad sometimes.

  1. It is wonderful that you recognize it and can talk about it! I get like that too. When I do, I read in the book of Psalms in the Bible and it pulls me right out of it. 🙂 God bless you!

  2. Well, you went to the right person to talk about it. I think many of us experience a holiday “let-down.” The introspection about where it might be coming from is smart. I, too, have been given the thorn of depression, and I must pause every now and again to compare that experience with common sadness. On the other hand, I also know my Heavenly Father holds me in His arms when it gets too much for me to bear on my own.

    The good news is that I can also experience wonderful laughter and joy that enriches my heart. God has given us emotions to experience fully. As a single woman, it’s lovely for me to know I am able to experience them with Him. I think He finds it a blessings when we are honest with Him, giving Him all of who we are.

Leave a Reply

