My fantasy road trip (Part 1)

It’s Friday afternoon, we’ve picked the children up from school. They’re all slightly fractious and annoying each other. I’ve waited what feels like an age for the computer to load. I’m sitting at a desk in a cold room gazing out at the darkening sky through the net curtains. It’s all a depressing picture.

Therefore I’ve decided to divorce myself from reality completely and pretend I’ve won millions on the lottery. I’ve already done the benevolent thing and given to charity. Now its time to indulge myself and embark on an adventure.

I’ve often wondered what places I would go if money were suddenly no object and of course my choices are slightly narrowed now I have children because I don’t want to visit unsafe places with the family. So here in no semblance of order at all are some of the places that spring to mind.

I would like to visit Jerusalem and see the Mount of Olives and Galilee and a lot of the places mentioned in the bible. Not a very safe idea at the moment.

I’d like to see Egypt and the Pyramids and the Valley of the Kings. I’d like to stroll along the Champs Elysee and drink coffee at an outside cafe in Paris and promenade by the Seine. I’d also make time to visit Notre Dame and The Louvre and the Arc de Triomphe.

I would like to go cycling through the tulip fields in Amsterdam and skiing anywhere there’s enough snow. I’d like to visit the Maldives and Dubai. I want to visit Italy and Rome and Venice and do all the touristy things there.

I’d love to visit many different parts of America, particularly Seattle, Chicago, Vermont and New Hampshire. I want to see New York, Times square and the Statue of Liberty.

If I were rich enough to call the shots I would take the children out of school for 6 months, buy a  Winnebago and go on a road trip with them. We’d still do educational things too but their eyes would be broadened by the travel also.

So how about you? Where is the best place you have ever been and where would you go if finances weren’t an issue?.  Perhaps I should mention that I’ve visited France, Portugal, Corfu and Germany.

I know I’m going to read this back and remember a lot of places I’ve missed so I’ll call this part 1.

Google image of tulip field in Amsterdam.

4 thoughts on “My fantasy road trip (Part 1)

  1. My dream is to see Italy…I’ve always wanted to go there. I have traveled to and through most of the United States, though Alaska (where my one aunt lives), and Hawaii are on the list. I would also love to visit Sweden and Finland, to explore my ancestry.

  2. Right now it is cold here so I would wish to be on a sunny Carribean beach wading through ice blue clear ocean. If I won the lottery (millions), I probably would not do a lot of traveling (due to the safety at this age and time) but I would by a nice ranch log home near mountains with a lot of land of meadows and pine trees.

Leave a Reply

