The joy of film trailers.

I’ve said before how much I enjoy the whole cinema experience, the settling down in comfy seats, well,  comfy once your bottom has firmly held them down, the last minute toilet trips with the children and then finally darkness falls and silence (hopefully) ensues.

Where we live in Wales, or the Shire as it’s affectionately called, the interim before the trailers they show local adverts.

Take my word for it, these are dire and include promoting the local college and the hazards of fly tipping with a close up of dog poo in glorious technicolour.

Perhaps that is why I breathe a sigh of relief when the trailers commence.

The trailers are an indication that the big film is about to start.

When I was a child we often had an A film and a B film or a cartoon. Showing my age there!

I don’t know why but I love watching film trailers. Maybe it’s the frustrated writer in me. I like to analyse the plot we are shown and then anticipate the tag line the trailer will use.

Often times they are trailers for things I have no particular desire to see. Sometimes when I watch a DVD at home, instead of skipping straight to the main feature, I watch the trailers and they mentally remind me of films to put on my DVD rental list or DVD’s to buy later.

As you’ve gathered by now, TV and all it’s counterparts have a big place in our home. We quite often all snuggle together and watch a film, once we have all been able to agree on one of course! This is balanced though with walks and other activities.

The only times I get annoyed with trailers are when they have practically shown you the whole film plot in a few minutes. There are no good bits left to watch because they’ve used them all in the trailers!

So, what side of the fence do you fall on?

Are trailers worthwhile and enjoyable or are they an evil to be fast forwarded and avoided?

Till next time.

11 thoughts on “The joy of film trailers.

  1. Don’t tell anyone, but I remember the A and B film thing too. Now I wonder just how long a trip to the cinema did that involve. As to trailers, they are meant to suck you in, by showing the best bits. Sometimes that just leaves you to watch the bits they should have cut before releasing the film as a short video, but that’s just me

  2. Well, in our local theaters, the “trailers” are more commonly called “previews.” And while some are entertaining, they go on and on and on! It takes about 15-20 minutes to get to the start of the movie you actually came to watch.

    I’ve had the popcorn and soda long before the actual movie starts one too many times! Advertise and promote your movies, I say. But don’t inundate me with so many…

    Thanks for sharing a good post!

    “EE”

      1. I commend you…I don’t have the willpower to do that! Well, I should say I don’t do “sweeties” anymore…dieting for the last 5 months. Lost about 25 pounds and still want to drop another 10 or so…(no fun!)

        :
        Ed

      2. Well you can always talk to me for support. We need that when we have to do this diet thing…

        I’ll bet you’re doing great with it! I wish you success…

        Ed πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

