Wisdom to live by (weekly writing challenge-object)

My object for this week’s writing challenge is my Bible. This book has been in my life, in one shape or another since childhood.
I still recall the excitement of holding my very first Bible. It was a child’s version but I didn’t understand much of it then.

Between my husband and I and my children we have at least 15 Bibles between us in various versions and sizes.

In 1799, Mary Jones who was just 15 , walked 25 miles across the Welsh countryside because she was so desperate to own her own Bible.

On her Coronation Elizabeth 2nd was presented with a Bible with the words “the most valuable thing this world offers”.

Over 100 million Bibles are sold annually and it consistently features in the top 10 books of all time. What makes it so popular?

Simply, we believe it is God’s word for us, his guide for our lives.
“All scripture is God breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness” (2Tim3:16).

I confess I have a difficult relationship with my Bible sometimes. I know the value it deserves yet I treat it with indifference ….

If I want to read my Bible I can access it through a book, an e book, on my smart phone, over the internet and more.

I aim to read some of it every day. At the moment I’m using a daily reading plan which takes you through the whole Bible in a year.

I don’t always achieve my aim. Other books such as novels grab my attention more. The Bible seems dry.

I know though when I do take the time to read it and absorb it I feel the difference inside. I feel more equipped to deal with what life throws at me.

Is it because it’s so accessible that I occasionally treat it with contempt? If I were living in a third world country or somewhere people suffer persecution would it mean more to me?

I suspect it would.

Till next time.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/24/writing-challenge-object/

7 thoughts on “Wisdom to live by (weekly writing challenge-object)

  1. I had a “Read In One Year Bible” that I was reading and it has gone missing…hmmmm. I try and read from the Bible every day. I too get side-tracked by novels and daily life. But I am getting better about reading it every day.

Leave a Reply

