When new beginnings are frustrating…

Today feels like it’s been full of frustration. It started off well enough. I had fun unpacking a big delivery of art supplies and putting it on display even though it took over an hour.
As most of you know I’m at the beginning of a part time job which means 2 days a week I’m the sole person in this college art shop. We carry a lot of lines so I’ve started trying to memorise some of the prices as I feel embarrassed either having to ask the customers or go onto the shop floor to check.

Unfortunately our till is old so none of the prices are bar coded. Everything has to be done the long way round. This afternoon after trying to be careful because I know this till can be tempremental I managed to awaken the beast and it stopped working on me.

I was in the middle of trying to serve a customer so it wasn’t the ideal time to fail. After repeatedly jabbing several buttons, turning it on and off again I gave in and phoned my boss at his other branch. He was at a loss too as everything he suggested failed. Finally I prayed, pressed what must have been the right button and the till sprang into life. I could have kissed it.

Other frustrations included the card reader being on a go slow and declining cards due to comms which I took to mean the server was busy… Then I was late to close up because I was waiting for a customer from the earlier till fiasco to return as we won’t open again until Monday.

I’m hard on myself. I know I am but I hate not knowing things. I get flustered and make the situation worse. I can’t wait until I really know what I’m doing!!!

Sorry for the moan.

2 thoughts on “When new beginnings are frustrating…

  1. Bless your heart. New jobs are so frustrating. You are learning all the ins and outs of the job and want to make a good impression. Don’t be so hard on yourself. I am sure you are doing much better than you realize. Soon it will all be easy.

Leave a Reply

