Things I still want my Mother to teach me.

If I had to label myself I would say I was a frustrated creative type. This meaning that I love making things but am slightly at a loss where to start projects and a novice at the basics.

This is not for lack of trying on my Mother’s behalf but she quickly figured out I was more interested in books than home making.

Both my grandmother and mother attempted to teach me to knit. After a couple of enthusiastic days my straggly scarf would be tucked away in a drawer not to see the light of day again unless the wool was needed for another task.

My mother grew up in the 50’s and 60’s , a time for them of thrift and self sufficiency. They baked, cooked for a family, washed laundry and cleaned house along with making their own clothes and their children’s clothes.

You can buy clothes very cheaply now but that wasn’t the case then.

Now that I have reached my 40’s and have a house and children of my own my creative instinct has resurfaced. The only problem is I am not equipped to pursue those  desires as I need to master the basics before going on to more elaborate projects.

It’s one of my biggest regrets that I’m not more of a handy person. I’d love to be able to sew clothes for myself and the children but my sewing machine sits in a corner gathering dust.

Children today are not brought up making their own clothes or learning to cook family meals or how to clean a home. It’s pretty much up to the parents to instill these skills which is not much good if you don’t know what you’re doing as a parent yourself!

I’ve attempted previously to follow YouTube tutorials on subjects like crocheting but I usually give up. I’m not very coordinated anyway and I’ve always been guilty of saying I understand things when I don’t and then going away and being confused.

This year though seems to be a year in which things in my life are being sorted so perhaps I can add these other strings to my bow.

Here’s hoping!

6 thoughts on “Things I still want my Mother to teach me.

  1. I hope you succeed. I’m dreaming of learning to use my sewing machine properly and make clothes for myself and the children. Maybe this will be my year to learn as well.

  2. I hope you will be able to learn how to do the things you want to learn. I use to crochet, but I don’t crochet anymore. I use to make my own clothes, but the patterns and materials have become too costly. I tried to knit but was not able to grasp it. So I never knitted anything to completion.

  3. Oh, gosh, did you bring back memories. I used to sew my own clothes when I was first married (40 years ago when patterns were 99 cents!). I made everything from blouses to full length coats.
    My mother didn’t teach me, but I took Home Economics in school. This had absolutely nothing to do with economics. We girls learned to cook and sew in high school while the boys took Shop Class (wood working and auto mechanics). I tried my hand at knitting and crocheting, but I have arthritis, and everything ended up in knots.
    Now, patterns are more expensive than the clothes I can buy at Goodwill. Ah, the good old days.

    1. We did home economics at school. I learnt to make an apron which the teacher finished, basic recipes , metal candle holder and a wooden pencil stand! Not exactly preparing me for life!

Leave a Reply

