I’m not very thick skinned when it comes to my writing and my blog. That’s something I need to work on, since the chances are if I want to have any kind of writing success it will follow multiple rejection slips!

There are people I come into contact with who seem determined to be doom spreaders or naysayers. Whenever I’m excited about a new opportunity or event in my life seems like they can’t wait to bring me back down to earth with a bump. It’s as if they enjoy taking the wind out of my sails. Why is this? Am I suffering from paranoia or are they just not very nice? The true answer probably falls somewhere in the middle. I’ve learnt the hard way there are some who will only be content when my life is on the down turn. This is why I don’t tell everyone everything.

I have one friend and I do call her a friend because she is great in other areas, who doesn’t like it if I do well on the weight loss front. Whenever she knows I am dieting or healthy eating or given up snacking for Lent she will always try to sabotage me.

This leads me on to the subject of my blog. I have been really happy with how my readership has grown over 6 months. I don’t have thousands of followers but it’s been pretty steady growth. It’s not in the league of some blogs I follow but I have not put in the amount of work they have so that’s understandable and they deserve their success.

This is where I’m going to be brave. I’ve lost a couple of followers lately and I also read another blog which stated that some bloggers who blog daily post some posts that would perhaps be better not posted because the level of quality drops off. This is something I worry about. I like posting daily but I’m aware that this means some of my posts are more rushed than others. Although this blog is for me and writing practice I don’t want to be cheating my followers.

So if you have an opinion please could you give me some feedback on my blog, which posts you like and dislike and do you think I should post less frequently or not?

I have my box of tissues handy! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Naysayers and saboteurs.

  1. Okay Suzi, here goes..get your box of tissues.
    … I love your blog! You are a wonderful writer and phooey on those who try and bring you down. (Sadly, that is the only way they know how to make “themselves” feel better).

    1. Hi Mike. Thanks for the comment. And now you’ve asked that I’m not sure! Probably a mix of the thinking the more followers on social media you have the better because that’s how we’re indoctrinated to think and I suppose it makes me feel good and gives an indication that people appreciate my writing. Actually it’s all pretty much about self…. Realising that is not so good. Thanks for the food for thought.

  2. I love your blog Suzi ☺I love that you are keeping to your dream of writing and being part of what’s going on in your life. . Keep at it and dont take any notice of those who are negative-maybe they are jealous of your creativity and talent! . Heather x

Leave a Reply

