Most women don’t want to be chatted up at the gym!

I would have thought the above statement and title was pretty obvious really but apparently there are still some hardy masculine souls who attempt to make the most of every opportunity.

I’m not speaking of myself being hit on. There aren’t many advantages of being a plus size at the gym but that’s one of them. Unless you go with a friend you’re pretty much guaranteed to have no conversation other than the drivel coming through your ear phones as you try to bypass Jeremy Kyle. Which you must always do. It’s an unwritten rule.

So. When I go alone to the gym I get to pursue my reason for being there in the first place, to exercise and feel a little better about myself.

Not so the poor gym bunny (that’s what my husband said when I asked if she was pretty- basically yes but I won’t say that because you might hit me in other words) who was interrupted halfway through her routine to be asked “Don’t I know you?”.

As chat up lines go that’s spectacularly bad but I guess you can’t blame a guy for trying, hey? Actually I think you can. He might have been the male gym bunny equivalent of her (again Hubby’s words) but even so what part of her demeanour indicated she would welcome conversation?

Perhaps I should give him the benefit of the doubt. Maybe the poor lad had endured such a testosterone fuelled workout he wasn’t thinking. Or better yet, thinking with another part of his anatomy.

I asked my husband what took place next. She basically wiped the floor with him and said “really? That’s the best you can do? Can’t you think of something better than that? I’ve only been living here 5 days so I’ve certainly not met you before”.

And with that she sighed and rolled her eyes and left the gym leaving the guys ego in a puddle on the floor.

I would have applauded if I’d been there but fortunately I wasn’t as hubby said it was quite an awkward moment.

Don’t misunderstand me. Undoubtedly there would have been some ladies who would have welcomed his advances but he would have done better to do his homework more!

Sigh….

Maybe she should have worn this.
image

Leave a Reply

