Pruning and growing better fruit.

The fruits of the spirit mentioned in Galations 5 in the Bible are the 9 visible attributes of a
Christian life that is sustained by the holy spirit.
They are love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self control. They are supernatural qualities that humans possess to a certain degree but are enhanced when we have a relationship with God and the holy spirit.

Of ourselves we cannot deepen these qualities. I think as Christians we struggle with different ones of these fruits at different periods of our lives. I will openly admit that I struggle with pretty much all of these virtues.

At the moment I’m struggling with self control  and discipline. It seems to be a fact of my life that I cannot be disciplined in more than one area at a time. Maybe that is an excuse. I get very frustrated with myself that I’m undisciplined and unfocused.

This is a slightly trivial example but I’m finding it difficult to eat healthily at the moment. I know fruit and vegetables and water are good for me but I prefer the instant gratification of chocolate. I’m enjoying the gym and exercising but it is not enough by itself it needs to be coupled with sensible diet too.

Thankfully each day can be a fresh start and it is never too late to begin again. I know I can be focused and single minded. I just need to find that place of motivation again.
With regards to spiritual matters it is comforting to know that “We do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathise with our weaknesses but one who was tempted in every way, yet without sin”(Heb 4:15).

2 thoughts on “Pruning and growing better fruit.

  1. When I was on Weight Watchers years ago, I remember the leader saying that if we go off our eating plan, we can just go back right on it at the next meal. It helped me not to be such a perfectionist about my eating. I don’t know if this relates, but I thought I’d share it with you!

Leave a Reply

