Pot,kettle, Black

Dear Suzi.
I’m sorry. I tried to get over this but I just can’t. Your willful neglect of me and constant favouritism of my companions has led to a deep rift between us. A chasm I’m not sure can ever be leapt over.

You’ve changed. You’re not the faithful friend I’ve come to know and love. Indeed, I hardly recognise you these days. You say that you are all about fairness and loyalty but you’re lying. To me, to everyone else and worst of all, to yourself. You’ve left your first love.

Now you’re all about the experience, the novelty of trying new things. You actively go out and seek fresh adventures and leave me here alone. I can’t tell you how much it hurts.
We grew up together and now you don’t want to know me. I’ve known you your whole life. I’ve been your companion through many trials. A solace you were only happy to seek. And this is how you treat me. This is my reward. Well I’m sorry. It ends now. I’m leaving. Going to find somewhere I’ll be appreciated for myself. I hope you’ll be very happy with your 3 coffee machines, coffee grinder, cafetiere, ground beans and other paraphernalia related to my enemy, the bean.
Yours unfaithfully and with deep resentment. Your teapot.

PS. I only pretended to like those own brand tea bags!

image

This letter was inspired by a Dear John writing prompt on Google.

2 thoughts on “Pot,kettle, Black

Leave a Reply

