Who do we trust?

I’m sure we’ve all heard the expression “There’s 2 sides to every story”. In my experience there are often more sides to a story and the truth is usually a grey patch somewhere in the middle since what we acknowledge to be the truth is shaped by our own history and motivations.

In these times of social media when we are bombarded by stories on all sides how can we get to the truth behind them and discover what is really going on?

Yesterday, in good faith, my Mother forwarded a text to me concerning a very serious issue. Without going into the specific details it indicated that a particular group of Christians were at imminent threat and risk of beheading for their faith.

Subsequently I , in good faith posted a status on a couple of social media outlets regarding this situation and asking fellow Christians to pray for their persecuted brothers and sisters and highlighting the issue.

A short while later I discovered the text purporting to be from this company was actually a hoax and this urgent situation was false. Whilst I was happy the beheading story was untrue I was frustrated I’d been led astray by this false rumour. I also felt awful for giving people unnecessary worry by highlighting it in the first place.

When newspapers and politicians and governments twist the truth for their own reasons and individuals have their own agendas how can we keep up to date with current affairs and really know what is going on in the world? How do we have any hope of ascertaining realities when people are paid to give us false impressions?

Please don’t misunderstand me. I’m not a conspiracy theorist and I don’t see danger lurking behind every bush. I do however feel it is our duty to look beyond our own 4 walls and our own territories.

I think it’s probably best to take most things with a pinch of salt unless we are certain of truths, to show wisdom in who we listen to and read and to remember that we are all impartial and biased in some ways despite our desires to be otherwise.

2 thoughts on “Who do we trust?

Leave a Reply

