Don’t try this at home!

Many years ago I was a college student. Known for my chattiness, my tendency to stay up late and my proclivity for procrastination. It’s not that I wasn’t capable of working hard or of getting good grades. It was just that other things seemed more appealing.

My inclination to leave my homework to the last minute possible began at the end of high school and it seemed carried on until college.

In short, I lacked discipline.

From what I recall one holiday season we were given a project to do for college and it slipped my mind. I don’t know what else I was doing instead but it wasn’t my project anyway.

About a week into the new term my fellow students began handing in their projects. Not tiny slim files but thick bulky files of what looked like copious pages of work .

My heart sank as the forgotten project came to mind. One of my classmates was kind enough to lend me her project notes as a guide so all I had to do was a similar thing in my own words.

You would have thought this scare would have been enough of a kick up the backside to get going….. But oh no.
Tetris had just come out on gameboy (told you I was old!) so my free time was taken up with that.

The night before the project was due, yes you read that right, I sat down in front of one of the only computers and started typing. I typed and typed and typed. It was a long project. It took me several hours. I think I finished it roughly 7am the next morning. To say I was tired was an understatement.

Of course it was all my own fault. I’d like to say I’ve learnt since then. That is probably the most sticky situation I’ve been in……

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/saved-by-the-bell/

3 thoughts on “Don’t try this at home!

Leave a Reply

